Latest topics
» Royal Oak wall plaque - who made this?
Today at 15:38 by Maryr

» Corrimal d387
Today at 8:07 by JanPots

» Peter Lowrie Pottery marks for the gallery
Wed 18 Oct - 16:33 by Maryr

» Hi from Driving Creek
Wed 18 Oct - 10:34 by Ev

» Peter Hamann
Tue 17 Oct - 18:20 by R L Pike

» Taranto Crown Lynn modello Tableware
Tue 17 Oct - 6:04 by Ev

» HW Inscribed Shape 35(edit) Salisbury Vase
Mon 16 Oct - 17:25 by oakpot

» Modello Milano 20 pc NIB
Mon 16 Oct - 17:12 by Michael Smythe

» third party handpainted CL plate
Sun 15 Oct - 16:01 by oakpot


3616 and 3619 review

View previous topic View next topic Go down

Re: 3616 and 3619 review

Post  Jeremy Ashford on Wed 31 Dec - 14:35

In the gallery pics I cannot distinguish between the handles of the 3616 and 3619.

???
avatar
Jeremy Ashford

Number of posts : 2987
Location : Whangarei, New Zealand
Registration date : 2010-09-11

Back to top Go down

Re: 3616 and 3619 review

Post  Ev on Wed 31 Dec - 19:08

Jeremy Ashford wrote:In the gallery pics I cannot distinguish between the handles of the 3616 and 3619.

???

I will have to check that out when time permits ....
avatar
Ev
Admin

Number of posts : 13053
Location : Sth Auckland New Zealand
Interests: : NZ Studio Pottery and NZ Pottery History
Registration date : 2008-08-28

http://www.newzealandpottery.net

Back to top Go down

Re: 3616 and 3619 review

Post  Ev on Thu 1 Jan - 7:45

3619 from the Portage Ceramics site ..... what are your thoughts Jeremy?

http://www.nzmuseums.co.nz/account/3384/object/489929/Cup_-_bisque
avatar
Ev
Admin

Number of posts : 13053
Location : Sth Auckland New Zealand
Interests: : NZ Studio Pottery and NZ Pottery History
Registration date : 2008-08-28

http://www.newzealandpottery.net

Back to top Go down

3616 and 3619 review

Post  Jeremy Ashford on Fri 2 Jan - 15:19

OK.

I'd like to see them (3616, 3619) side by side to see what the difference is.

I'm still on holiday bludging wifi so I will look compare Portage pics when I get home.
avatar
Jeremy Ashford

Number of posts : 2987
Location : Whangarei, New Zealand
Registration date : 2010-09-11

Back to top Go down

Re: DC8 Air NZ cup and others ..

Post  Jonno on Fri 2 Jan - 16:46

I am confused, why are we wondering about 3616 & 3619 on this thread which is about DC8 Air NZ ? The bowl shape of the cups may be similar or the same but it is the handles on the original DC8 and the current copy that was the starting question and the shape is stated earlier in the thread as 3010.


Last edited by Jonno on Fri 2 Jan - 16:48; edited 1 time in total (Reason for editing : Add further info to clarify)
avatar
Jonno

Number of posts : 659
Location : Milford,Auckland
Registration date : 2011-05-13

Back to top Go down

Re: 3616 and 3619 review

Post  Ev on Fri 2 Jan - 17:22

I agree Jonno as that is very off topic and I will move those posts to a new thread.
avatar
Ev
Admin

Number of posts : 13053
Location : Sth Auckland New Zealand
Interests: : NZ Studio Pottery and NZ Pottery History
Registration date : 2008-08-28

http://www.newzealandpottery.net

Back to top Go down

Reply to Jonno

Post  Jeremy Ashford on Sat 3 Jan - 17:37

Jonno,

As there is no number or description in the gallery to fit the Air New Zealand cup with the different handle I just wanted to be certain that the picture for 3619 in the gallery was correct, and not just a duplicate of the 3616 shape.

Ev has confirmed, after consulting with the Portage Ceramics Trust website, that the gallery picture for 3619 is correct.

The 3616 has a "781 handle" and the 3619 has its "own 3619 handle" but there is little to distinguish the two from the gallery photos alone.

I have cups in this shape (one or the other, or both) but have not had a chance to make a close comparison as I have been away from home, nor have I had the opportunity to search the original postings for the two numbers (for lack of wifi).
avatar
Jeremy Ashford

Number of posts : 2987
Location : Whangarei, New Zealand
Registration date : 2010-09-11

Back to top Go down

Re: 3616 and 3619 review

Post  Jeremy Ashford on Sun 29 May - 11:59

I thought it would be handy to have this pic in this topic.


All the 3616/3619 cups I have seen appear to have the same handle, which is bigger than a 781 handle, so I assume that they are 3619s.

We need to see two different ones side by side for comparison.

3616 is dated 7.11.67.
Ev, does the drawing above have a date?
As it shows the 5616 it will be after 23.3.68

Gotta stop. This is doing my head in.
avatar
Jeremy Ashford

Number of posts : 2987
Location : Whangarei, New Zealand
Registration date : 2010-09-11

Back to top Go down

Re: 3616 and 3619 review

Post  Ev on Sun 29 May - 12:24

3616 has the 781 handle
3619 has it's own handle
This is what it says in the records and in the gallery.
I only have one, so am not able to photograph both together.

The drawings are from the Modellers records and there are no dates. There is another series of records that I will check out with each page devoted to a single shape and these have dates and are signed off by Tam Mitchell.
The hand written records that have the dates are from the Shape Code of New Numbers records.

avatar
Ev
Admin

Number of posts : 13053
Location : Sth Auckland New Zealand
Interests: : NZ Studio Pottery and NZ Pottery History
Registration date : 2008-08-28

http://www.newzealandpottery.net

Back to top Go down

Re: 3616 and 3619 review

Post  Sponsored content


Sponsored content


Back to top Go down

View previous topic View next topic Back to top


 
Permissions in this forum:
You cannot reply to topics in this forum