NEW ZEALAND POTTERY
Would you like to react to this message? Create an account in a few clicks or log in to continue.

3616 and 3619 review

Go down

3616 and 3619 review Empty Re: 3616 and 3619 review

Post  Jeremy Ashford on Wed 31 Dec - 14:35

In the gallery pics I cannot distinguish between the handles of the 3616 and 3619.

???
Jeremy Ashford
Jeremy Ashford

Number of posts : 3150
Location : Whangarei, New Zealand
Registration date : 2010-09-11

Back to top Go down

3616 and 3619 review Empty Re: 3616 and 3619 review

Post  Ev on Wed 31 Dec - 19:08

Jeremy Ashford wrote:In the gallery pics I cannot distinguish between the handles of the 3616 and 3619.

???

I will have to check that out when time permits ....
Ev
Ev
Admin

Number of posts : 15218
Location : Sth Auckland New Zealand
Interests: : NZ Studio Pottery and NZ Pottery History
Registration date : 2008-08-28

http://newzealandpottery.net

Back to top Go down

3616 and 3619 review Empty Re: 3616 and 3619 review

Post  Ev on Thu 1 Jan - 7:45

3619 from the Portage Ceramics site ..... what are your thoughts Jeremy?

http://www.nzmuseums.co.nz/account/3384/object/489929/Cup_-_bisque
Ev
Ev
Admin

Number of posts : 15218
Location : Sth Auckland New Zealand
Interests: : NZ Studio Pottery and NZ Pottery History
Registration date : 2008-08-28

http://newzealandpottery.net

Back to top Go down

3616 and 3619 review Empty 3616 and 3619 review

Post  Jeremy Ashford on Fri 2 Jan - 15:19

OK.

I'd like to see them (3616, 3619) side by side to see what the difference is.

I'm still on holiday bludging wifi so I will look compare Portage pics when I get home.
Jeremy Ashford
Jeremy Ashford

Number of posts : 3150
Location : Whangarei, New Zealand
Registration date : 2010-09-11

Back to top Go down

3616 and 3619 review Empty Re: DC8 Air NZ cup and others ..

Post  Jonno on Fri 2 Jan - 16:46

I am confused, why are we wondering about 3616 & 3619 on this thread which is about DC8 Air NZ ? The bowl shape of the cups may be similar or the same but it is the handles on the original DC8 and the current copy that was the starting question and the shape is stated earlier in the thread as 3010.


Last edited by Jonno on Fri 2 Jan - 16:48; edited 1 time in total (Reason for editing : Add further info to clarify)
Jonno
Jonno

Number of posts : 662
Location : Milford,Auckland
Registration date : 2011-05-13

Back to top Go down

3616 and 3619 review Empty Re: 3616 and 3619 review

Post  Ev on Fri 2 Jan - 17:22

I agree Jonno as that is very off topic and I will move those posts to a new thread.
Ev
Ev
Admin

Number of posts : 15218
Location : Sth Auckland New Zealand
Interests: : NZ Studio Pottery and NZ Pottery History
Registration date : 2008-08-28

http://newzealandpottery.net

Back to top Go down

3616 and 3619 review Empty Reply to Jonno

Post  Jeremy Ashford on Sat 3 Jan - 17:37

Jonno,

As there is no number or description in the gallery to fit the Air New Zealand cup with the different handle I just wanted to be certain that the picture for 3619 in the gallery was correct, and not just a duplicate of the 3616 shape.

Ev has confirmed, after consulting with the Portage Ceramics Trust website, that the gallery picture for 3619 is correct.

The 3616 has a "781 handle" and the 3619 has its "own 3619 handle" but there is little to distinguish the two from the gallery photos alone.

I have cups in this shape (one or the other, or both) but have not had a chance to make a close comparison as I have been away from home, nor have I had the opportunity to search the original postings for the two numbers (for lack of wifi).
Jeremy Ashford
Jeremy Ashford

Number of posts : 3150
Location : Whangarei, New Zealand
Registration date : 2010-09-11

Back to top Go down

3616 and 3619 review Empty Re: 3616 and 3619 review

Post  Jeremy Ashford on Sun 29 May - 11:59

I thought it would be handy to have this pic in this topic.
3616 and 3619 review Dscf0910

All the 3616/3619 cups I have seen appear to have the same handle, which is bigger than a 781 handle, so I assume that they are 3619s.

We need to see two different ones side by side for comparison.

3616 is dated 7.11.67.
Ev, does the drawing above have a date?
As it shows the 5616 it will be after 23.3.68

Gotta stop. This is doing my head in.
Jeremy Ashford
Jeremy Ashford

Number of posts : 3150
Location : Whangarei, New Zealand
Registration date : 2010-09-11

Back to top Go down

3616 and 3619 review Empty Re: 3616 and 3619 review

Post  Ev on Sun 29 May - 12:24

3616 has the 781 handle
3619 has it's own handle
This is what it says in the records and in the gallery.
I only have one, so am not able to photograph both together.

The drawings are from the Modellers records and there are no dates. There is another series of records that I will check out with each page devoted to a single shape and these have dates and are signed off by Tam Mitchell.
The hand written records that have the dates are from the Shape Code of New Numbers records.

Ev
Ev
Admin

Number of posts : 15218
Location : Sth Auckland New Zealand
Interests: : NZ Studio Pottery and NZ Pottery History
Registration date : 2008-08-28

http://newzealandpottery.net

Back to top Go down

3616 and 3619 review Empty 3616 or 3619?

Post  Truffles on Sun 6 Dec - 11:02

I am a bit confused after reading all the info. Is this a 3616 or 3619? Is has a fat handle so not really a 781 as such. Yet Val's Riviera pics suggest it is 3616. Also, if it is the 3619, what saucer goes with it? Thanks.
3616 and 3619 review P1130313

Truffles

Number of posts : 14
Registration date : 2020-02-07

Back to top Go down

3616 and 3619 review Empty Re: 3616 and 3619 review

Post  Ev on Sun 6 Dec - 15:56

Hi there Truffles,
Can you tell me which Val Monk book and page you are referring to please?

Is your cup earthenware or vitrified ware?
Crown Lynn made this shape in both of those mediums.

From here it looks like a shape 3619, but it is very hard to see in cyberland.
Have you checked the Cup Shapes in the Gallery?

The saucers are easy if they have a pattern on them to match the cup.
We have a lot of info regarding saucers on the site, but it may read as gobbledygook Smile

Here are a couple of saucer threads. Good luck.

https://www.newzealandpottery.net/t5249-vitrified-cups-and-saucers-a-guide#19616

https://www.newzealandpottery.net/t6357-saucer-info-from-the-portage-museum-files#25005

Ev
Ev
Admin

Number of posts : 15218
Location : Sth Auckland New Zealand
Interests: : NZ Studio Pottery and NZ Pottery History
Registration date : 2008-08-28

http://newzealandpottery.net

Back to top Go down

3616 and 3619 review Empty Re: 3616 and 3619 review

Post  Truffles on Sun 6 Dec - 18:40

Hi Ev
Here is the link showing Val's Riviera.
https://www.newzealandpottery.net/t5265-cup-3616-and-saucer-for-jeremy?highlight=3616
Definitely vitrified, it's built like a wee tank. I checked in the cup gallery and the 3616 and 3619, to me, appear the same. Hence my confusion and possibly Jeremy's at the time.
Thanks for the saucer links. I will look in depth as only scanned so far.

Truffles

Number of posts : 14
Registration date : 2020-02-07

Back to top Go down

3616 and 3619 review Empty Re: 3616 and 3619 review

Post  Ev on Mon 7 Dec - 6:25

Thank you.
Sometimes it is hard for me to follow Jeremy, but I respect his vision and intellect.

The bowl cup shape on the 3616 and 3619 is the same.
It's the handle shape that is different.
The 3616 has a 781 (Tulip) shaped handle and the
3619 has it's own handle which is thicker.
Unless they are side by side it would be hard to tell which is which.
Ev
Ev
Admin

Number of posts : 15218
Location : Sth Auckland New Zealand
Interests: : NZ Studio Pottery and NZ Pottery History
Registration date : 2008-08-28

http://newzealandpottery.net

Truffles likes this post

Back to top Go down

3616 and 3619 review Empty Re: 3616 and 3619 review

Post  Sponsored content


Sponsored content


Back to top Go down

Back to top


 
Permissions in this forum:
You cannot reply to topics in this forum